Review: My True Love Gave to Me

My True Love Gave to Me, edited by Stephanie Perkins 

Genre: YA, Romance, Anthology

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press, 2014

Format: Hardcover, 355 pages

From The Bookworm’s Corner:

‘Tis the season for snuggling up with a good book by the fire, and My True Love Gave To Me is perfect for that. It’s also perfect for reading a short story in between all the racing around, shopping, and cooking that you end up doing at this time of the year. 12 authors (including some of my favorites, like Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins) contributed to this lovely collection. There were some stories that I felt more strongly about than others, so I thought I’d do mini-reviews of each one, then finish up with an overall star rating. Onward!

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell
Adorable, made me very happy as all Rainbow Rowell stories do. Lovely to see a relationship develop so well, even over the course of a short story. 4.5 stars.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link
Very unusual story, but cool. I think Link may have been playing with the Tam Lin legend? I didn’t care for the main character, though. In any case, it was weird but in a good way. 3 stars.

Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Peña
I really loved our hero in this story, and enjoyed watching the main relationship develop. Lots of very genuine emotions and reasonably realistic situations. 4 stars.

Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han
Probably my least favorite in the collection – I don’t really remember all that much about it, but I did think that the ending was great. 2 stars.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins
This short story was probably the highlight of the collection for me. Wonderful characters, cute setup, great setting – Perkins at her best. 5 stars.

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan
A sweet story, but just not my favorite. I didn’t find it particularly memorable, but did enjoy parts of it. 2.5 stars.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black
This was another very quirky and odd take on a Christmas romance. I loved the idea of Santa having an “evil twin,” so to speak. It was definitely a fun take on the idea of being naughty or nice! 3 stars.

What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman
Loved, loved, loved this one. All the awkwardness of starting a relationship, trying to fit in, and the ending was my favorite out of all the stories. 5 stars.

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire
I greatly enjoyed this one. The best part was wondering what else was going to go wrong next, and I particularly loved the pastor’s daughter. This one focused on relationships of a community as well as romantic relationships. 4 stars.

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White
Another very cute story. I personally found the ending to be a little cheesy, but I can deal with that because the journey to get to that ending was well-written and engaging. More than anything, though, I wish I had cooking superpowers. 3.5 stars.

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter
A kind of far-fetched scenario, but the relationship between our heroine and the aunt was very sweet and I always like stories about the love of family – while I think that the romance was cute, it was the family that really mattered. 3.5 stars.

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
I’m not entirely sure what this had to do with the holidays, except that it took place in the winter, but it was lyrically and beautifully written. The plot was fine, and I did think the characters were well-drawn. 4 stars.

All in all, I found this story collection to be wonderfully diverse and had a blast reading – I highly recommend it. Merry Christmas!!

Overall Rating (out of 5): Four stars!

About Olivia

I love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

