Review: Yes Please

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Genres: Humor, Memoir

Publisher: Dey Street Books, 2014

Format: Audiobook

From the Bookworm’s Corner:

Like most people, I fell in love with Amy Poehler’s work on Saturday Night Live and Parks and Recreation (still one of the best shows on TV, in my humble opinion) and so I was very excited to read her book. I was even more excited to listen to it as an audiobook; I love listening to comedians reading in their own voice. Actually, for Yes Please more so than most, I would really recommend listening to it over reading it. You get to hear the voices of the guest authors too, as well as some clips from Parks and Rec. 

There are some genuinely good pieces of advice in here about confidence, about being true to yourself, and being a woman in the entertainment industry. Those were the parts of the book that I loved. The one thing was, though, I didn’t find the book particularly funny. That may not have been Poehler’s intent in writing this memoir, but I guess I was expecting more humor and less talking about how difficult it is to write a book. Perhaps this is nobody’s fault but my own – I’ve read other books by comedians, both male and female, and even when they are more memoir-ish in nature there are still plenty of jokes, so maybe I was just expecting something different. I also wasn’t sure how to feel about the guest writers; I really wanted to hear Amy’s voice, not Seth Meyers’ (though I love him as well) or her parents’.

So all in all, I liked it but didn’t love it. Fans of Amy will certainly enjoy it, and her wisdom that she shares is wonderful. I just wish that it had been shared with a little more humor.

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

About Olivia

I love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

