Summer TBR

So remember when I started a book blog? AHAHAHAHAHA. That was before this insane semester happened and I was so, so busy. I still managed to read 20 books for fun over the course of the term (and plan on posting a few reviews of the recent releases I’ve read, like A Court of Thorns and Roses, which if you have not yet read YOU MUST), and I’ve got a busy summer ahead of me! I typically read about 20 books per summer break, and so here are some titles that I’m looking forward to reading:

  • Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
    I started reading this one a couple days ago because I want to read the book before I see the movie. So far, it’s a lovely book with a heck of a lot of sheep.
  • Fingersmith by Sarah Waters
    A thriller set in Dickensian London with a lesbian love affair thrown in for good measure? I’m all about that.
  • 1599 by James Shapiro
    In case you don’t know, I study Shakespeare. This book focuses on a year in the life of Shakespeare and is by one of my favorite Elizabethan scholars.
  • Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
    I saw a marvelous stage adaptation of this where Long John Silver was played by Arthur Freaking Darvill and Jim was played by a girl (the wonderful Patsy Ferran), and now I feel the need to read the book!
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik
    I’m really, really obsessed with fairytale retellings and I’m so glad that’s what is on trend right now in YA. So pumped to read this one.
  • When Calls the Heart by Janette Oke
    I’ve started watching the adorable TV series based on this book, and even though I tend to stay far away from Christian fiction (despite being a Christian, I can’t stand how preachy it can get), the reviews I’ve read lead me to believe that the book is just as good as the TV show.
  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
    Summertime is the best time for a good contemporary romance, and this sounds like a fun read.
About Olivia

I love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

