May Wrap-Up

So I thought I would ease back into reviewing with a quick wrap-up of what I read in May, as the glorious summer months kick off. May was a really fabulous reading month, with lots of kick-ass heroines, high fantasy, and wonderful new worlds to explore.

Books Read:

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir: This book was SO freaking good. The world reminded me a bit of The Winner’s Curse, probably because it is based on Roman culture and one of the protagonists is a slave, but the rest of it was wholly original. I read it in a single day – which is thoroughly impressive for a book of this length – and just couldn’t be bothered to get up and do things that I probably should have been doing. Highly recommended. 5/5 stars.

The Heir by Keira Cass: Despite myself, I keep finding myself reading The Selection books (maybe it’s my soft spot for The Bachelor). The heroine of The Heir, America and Maxon’s daughter, is such a pill and I had a hard time rooting for her. However, like its predecessors this book is compulsively readable; hopefully its protagonist will go through a little character development in books to come. 3.5/5 stars

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: Another absolutely amazing book that I couldn’t put down. The magic! The romance! The world-building! I love both the Beauty and the Beat fairy tale and the Tam Lin legend, and Maas weaves these two legends together so perfectly. Really, really well done. 5/5 stars

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brackenbrough: This book was really lovely and poetic, though I found myself losing interest at the end. It’s also really nice to read a love story set in my hometown of Seattle that isn’t Twilight or 50 Shades. 3/5 stars.

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas: A super solid sequel to Throne of Glass, there are so many wonderful twists and turns in this story. I found myself saying out loud, “NO WAY! NO WAY!” at the end. Sarah J. Maas is quickly rising to the top of my favorite authors list – time to go and check out Heir of Fire! 5/5 stars.

Challenge Updates:

As of the end of May, I’m 40% done with my Goodreads challenge (having read 24/60 books); 18 of those count towards the Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge.

Coming Up in June:

I’m currently reading The Courtiers by Lucy Worsley, which is a really interesting look at the life of the Georgian court in England, and Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy so I can go and see the movie. In June, I’m planning on reading a lot of fairy-tale retellings – A Court of Thorns and Roses has really given me a taste for them!

About Olivia

I love to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

